HELSBY took a break from their league campaign with a friendly against Shotton and enjoyed a good victory.

A strong start from the home side enabled them to open the scoring when good hands freed Jon Stubbs to race under the posts, Andy Rowlinson converting.

Shotton responded with an unconverted try before Rowlinson increased Helsby's lead when he scored in the corner following a good run.

Shotton started the second half well and were rewarded when a converted try levelled the scores.

The home side regained the lead when Ste Ayres raced down his wing on a 30-metres run to score under the posts.

Alex Rutter kicked the conversion.

And it was Ayres who sealed the win by scoring his second try near the end, with Gibson missing the conversion under the posts.

Helsby travel to Capenhurst tomorrow in a league fixture. The team will be from Williams, Walker, Mckibbon, Johnson, Gibson, Oliver, O'Neill, Wakefield, Gray, Thomas, Healey, Rutter, Jones, Stubbs, A Wakefield, S Ayres, Rowlinson.

Chester didn't have a game last weekend but resume North One action tomorrow with a visit to West Park.

Wirral club Caldy face their biggest match of the season tomorrow as the league programme resumes after a two-week break.

The Paton Field outfit go to Stockport in a top-of-the-table clash which could well decide the title.

Caldy did not play their Thwaites Cheshire Cup semi-final against Macclesfield over Easter. It has been put back to later this month.

Division One fixtures in South Lancashire/Cheshire One tomorrow include Hoylake v promotion-chasing Broughton Park and Wirral v Leigh.

Anselmians, who have seen their lead at the top of Division Two cut back, have an important match at Ashton-on-Mersey and Ellesmere Port welcome Ormskirk.

Port Sunlight, in Division Four, visit Merseyside Police.

The Chester team is from: Woods, Goulding, Davies, Fitzgerald, Campbell, Cottle, Sanger, Taylor, Sheen, Reynolds, Foden, Green, Lloyd, Parsley, Burke, Brookes, Verbickas, Rylance

Chester seconds also go to West Park with this team: Hughes, Sandland-Jones, Turnbull, Dykes, Tennant, Owens, Moore, Clarke, Graham, Hollands, Bunce, Lyle, Dewington (or Griffiths), Pearson, Aldersey. Subs: Davidson, Bellamy, Woolgar.