CONSERVATIVE C and Liberal B served up a dramatic match when they met in the CD McAllister Cup.

The Chester and District League handicap competition saw Cons handed a 94 handicap and Liberal 86 – and it could hardly have been any closer as Libs emerged victorious by just one point.

Dave Burns opened the scoring for Cons with a five-point win over Lew Williams and George Lofthouse increased Cons’ lead with a victory over Terry Willcock.

Peter Beswick (Liberal) defeated Tom Donnelly by a point, but Alan Rogers hit back by seeing off Tom Horne and Kevin Harris lost by seven points to Gareth Crebbin.

It all meant that Liberal trailed by 16 points going into the last game, which Dave Ankers won by 17 points against John Wells to cap a remarkable match.

In the league, Christleton A lost 4-2 at home to United Services in the Riley’s Division. Kirk Shone lost a close first frame to Anthony Courtney and then Christleton’s leading scorer Barry Charker fell to a surprise defeat to Kenny Kay. Dave Done pulled one back for Christleton with a victory over Martin Walsh and Matty Done levelled it by beating Geoff Anderson. Paul Lewis (Services) easily got the better of Mike Craig and Geoff Brassington continued his winning run by beating John Mooney and giving Services the match.

Reigning champions Christleton B romped to a 6-0 win at Snooker Centre, while in the Olympic Trophies Division Waverton went down 4-2 at home to County Officers. The visitors raced into a 3-0 lead through Paul Heaney, Mark Lloyd and Harold Hewson. Waverton hit back thanks to Paul Ireland and Bill McClimmonds, but Geoff Powell sealed it for CCO.

Blacon SC let a 3-0 lead slip in a 3-3 draw with Conservative C, while Blacon SC A finished up with the same score at Upton RBL C. John Griffiths put Upton 1-0 up, newcomer A Tushingham levelled for Blacon, only for Steve Bright to restore Upton’s lead. Shane Tushingham brought it back to 2-2 before wins for Upton’s Mike Bedward and Blacon’s Danny Tushingham made it 3-3.