This website uses cookies. Using this website means you are okay with this but you can find out more and learn how to manage your cookie choices here.

Pupils go for gold in Stanney Oaks series

Hundreds compete in opening round of Essar West Cheshire AC Schools Cross Country Race series

Year 7 girls winner Georgia Bell (wearing 244), with Lily Moorhouse and Harriet Belderbos at the West Cheshire AC cross country event

A totalL of 226 youngsters from  39 schools competed at the opening round of the Essar West  Cheshire AC Schools Cross  Country Race Series.

Organisers West Cheshire were delighted with the turnout for the popular fixture, which is part of a  four-round competition held at the  Stanney Oaks track.

The event was open to primary and  secondary schools pupils within the  Chester, Ellesmere Port, Neston and  Helsby area.

Tamsin O’Keefe and Jac Goodall  secured a double success story for  Christleton by clinching victories in  the Year 6 girls and Year 8 boys races  respectively.

Christleton Primary pupil O’Keefe  clocked a winning time of five  minutes to finish 14 seconds clear of  runner-up Anna Crayston (Tarporley), while Meadow’s Hollie Jones  was third in 5:34.

Christleton High student Goodall  posted a winning time of 11:07, ahead  of second-placed Rory Willson (Tarporley) who clocked 11:58, and  third-placed Patrick Tate  (Christleton) in 12:34.

Hannah Duffy and Zak Dean celebrated success for Helsby Hillside in  the Year 3 girls and boys races respectively.

Duffy won with a time of 3:39, an  identical time clocked by runner-up  Jessica Henessey (Newton), while  Acresfield’s Jessica Leatch finished  third in 3:42.

Dean posted a winning time of 3:19,  just two seconds clear of second-  placed Charlie McMullan (Tarvin)  and Tarporley’s Harry Bugg in third  spot.

Rebecca Kenworthy (Tarporley Primary) and Issy Clarke (Tarporley  High) won the Year 4 and Year 8 girls  races respectively.

Kenworthy clocked 3:23, just one  second in front of runner-up Imogen  Pughe and third-placed Lara Battersby, who represented Childer  Thornton.

Joe Carroll (Millview) celebrated  success in the Year 4 boys race with a  time of 3:01, the same as runner-up  Henry Robinson (Waverton), while  Millview’s William Sutcliffe was  third in 3:08.

Lottie Wood (5:40) and Jessica Wood  (5:44) from Kingsley finished first  and second in the Year 5 girls race,  ahead of Tarporley’s Izzy Heath in  third spot with 5:47.

Saighton’s Isaac Tait won the Year 5  boys race in 5:09, ahead of runner-up  Jake Baker-Humphries (Eaton) in  5:25 and third-placed Lewis Gray  (Eaton) in 5:32.

Harvey Tegg, of Childer Thornton,  won the Year 6 boys race in 4:53, from  Tarporley’s Max Ross (4:56) in second  place and Charlie Potts (Helsby Hillside) who was third in 5:00.

Georgia Bell (Whitby High)  claimed success in the Year 7 girls  race with 9:21, five seconds ahead of  runner-up Lilly Moorhouse (Tarporley), while Harriet Belderbos (Neston) was third in 9:29.

Morgan Gray, from Abbey Gate,  was victorious in the Year 7 boys race  in 8:55, the same time as runner-up  Josh Phillips (Wirral Grammar),  while Whitby’s Ethan Fiddler was  third in 9:01.

View full mobile page