TWO goal hit-man, Darren McGuiness was the toast of his team-mates after West Kirby pulled off a shock 2-0 result at current Carlsberg West Cheshire League Division One leaders Heswall.

Despite last week's defeat at Castrol Social, Kirby can be well satisfied with their season to date, having climbed to sixth place in the table and with the added incentive of a Cheshire FA Amateur Cup semi-final clash with Cammell Laird Reserves still to look forward to.

Laird Reserves were another side who fell on their sword forfeiting three crucial points after going down 1-0 at home to bottom club, Ellesmere Port. 2002 champions Christleton romped home 5-1 against Maghull.

A Dave Cringle penalty gave Poulton Vics the nod at MANWEB while Aintree Villa fought back from 2-0 down with ten men to edge Mallaby 4-3 in injury time.

Two-goal Danny McNicholas was the star of the show as Vaux-hall Motors Reserves eclipsed Newton 3-1 but Ashville's Dave McDermott went one better with three in his side's 5-2 defeat of Castrol Social.

Elsewhere Merseyside Police were indebted to goals from Chris Killen (3) and Glen Crowder for their 5-1 victory at Merseyside Police. Honours were shared as Division Two leaders Mond Rang-ers drew 1-1 with nearest rivals New Brighton.

After last week's blip, Capen-hurst Villa came back with all guns blazing, Mark Ryan (2) and Paul Stanley cracking the goals which set up the 3-1 win over Maghull Reserves Paul Johnson replying.

A Mark Crossan treble inspired Chester Nomads to a 5-2 win against Ashville Reserves while FC Pensby celebrated a long over-due 3-0 win at Heswall Reserves.

Division Three leaders Willaston dropped two points drawing 1-1 by lowly Capenhurst Villa.

Respective hot-shots in St Werburgh's 2-2 stalemate with Shaftes-bury were Joe Waters Jnr, Nathan Maplecroft, Paul Adams and Jamie Pippard while Merseyside Poilce Reserves, owed their 3-1 win against Manor Athletic Reserves to goals from Dave Ramsdale, Scott Jamieson and Tony O'Brien.

Carlsberg West Cheshire AF League: Upton Athletic Assoc Res 4 (Robinson, og, Jarratt, Robinson, pen) West Kirby Res 1 (Cavanagh).

Division One: Ashville 5 (McDermott 3, Sherratt, Slomka) Castrol Social 2 (Doyle 2), Cammell Laird Reserves 0 Ellesmere Port 1 (Chambers), Christleton 5 (Kilgannon 2, Holifield pen, Rielly, Owen) Maghull 1 (Bullen), General Chemicals 1 (Hart) Merseyside Police 5 (Killen 3, Crowder 2), Heswall 0 West Kirby 2 (McGuiness 2), Mallaby 3 (Houghton 2, Burrows) Aintree Villa 4 (Woodward, Wainwright, Young, Latham), Manweb 0 Poulton Victoria 1 (Cringle, pen), Vauxhall Motors Reserves 3 (Nell, McNicholas 2, pen) Newton 1 (Donaghue).

Division Two: Blacon Youth Club 2 (Hasdine, Collins) FC Building Boards 2 (Thomas, Ward), Chester Nomads 5 (Crossan 3, Sutcliffe, Young) Ashville Reserves 2 (Revill, Edge), FC Pensby 3 (Mackie 2, Gill) Heswall Reserves 0, Helsby 1 (Guest) Christleton Reserves 4 (Gardland, Marsh, Morgan, Gerard), Maghull Reserves 1 (Johnson) Capenhurst Villa 3 (Stanley, Ryan 2), Manor Athletic 1 (Roberts) Upton Athletic Association 4 (McQuillan, Robinson, Jones, Rowlings), New Brighton 1 (Griffiths) Mond Rangers 1 (Robinson), Poulton Victoria Reserves 1 (Carroll) Manweb Reserves 2 (Lunt, Hughes).

Division Three: Capenhurst Villa Res 1 (Fletcher) Willaston 1 (Dunbar), Elles-mere Port Reserves 2 (Coran, Hickson) MBNA 0, Mersey Royal 3 (Blackburn, Strange, Gray) Blacon Youth Club Res 4 (D Power 2, Price, Joyner), Merseyside Police Reserves 3 (Ramsdale, Jamieson, O'Brien) Manor Athletic Reserves 1 (Thorne), Mond Rangers Res 3 (Ramanouski, Droughton, Gogswell) Bronze Social 0, St Werburghs 2 (Waters Jnr, Maplecroft) Shaftesbury 2 (Adams, Pipard), Upton Athletic Assoc Res 1 (Robinson) New Brighton Reserves 7 (Harrison 5, Hayden, Kearon), West Kirby Reserves 0 Grange Athletic 4 (Finlay 2, Beckett, Shepherd).