LEAGUE newcomers Rainhill Colts quashed Kawneer's hopes of retaining Halton Bayer Cricket League's Lt Commander Wilkinson VC Cup - by beating them in the final.

Despite Danny Magee carrying his bat with 90no for the holders, the Colts got home in the last over with Gannon hitting a winning six with the scores level.

On a very dry, flat wicket at Widnes' Beaconsfield Road, Kawneer openers Magee and Mark Brick had attacked from the start, rattling up 49 in five overs.

Brick (34) was caught in the next over - off Harvey - but Mike Dean supported Magee as 31 runs were added for the second wicket.

Dean, having given his colleague as much strike as possible, was bowled by Harvey for five, making it 82-2.

Magee's belligerence, which saw him repeatedly find the boundary, raised thoughts of a record score.

But disaster struck for Kawneer with Tansey (1), Prendergast (0) and Hodgson (0) falling victim to Dooling in quick succession - all out to exceptional catches in the deep.

At 93-5, the scoring slowed in the last few overs. Trevor Brick was run out, giving Magee the strike, for four (109-6) and Dempsey was caught for one run doing the same (129-7).

Magee hit 14 off the last of the allotted 20 overs to make it 144-7.

Restricted by tight bowling from Dean and Brick, Rainhill slipped to 32-3.

Abbot (11) was caught by Glover while Harvey went for a golden duck and Dooling (6) was run out by the astute Magee.

Captain Connor Morris came in to lead the rescue, helping the total onto

94. But even then Prendergast had Ford (32) caught in the deep and Morris went four balls later to the same bowler for 29.

At 98-5, Gannon (31no) and Daniels (24no) took control to see the Colts home after slowly but surely reducing the run rate with some fine boundary hitting. Victory was sealed with three balls to spare.

During the presentations, league president Peter Knowles commented on an enjoyable game.

He once thanked the host club for their continued support and for the use of their facilities, before introducing the Widnes chairman Robin Faulkner to present awards.

Man-of-the-match sponsor and adjudicator John Weardon complimented both sides on their batting.