ATHLETICS: Wrexham AC long-distance aces did their club and town proud as the Welsh Inter-Regional & Masters Cross Country Championships came to Wrexham.

Lisa Morley was third (20.28mins) in the masters women’s followed by Alison Whitelaw in fifth (20.50), Margaret Docking in 19th (23.30) and Debbie Dodd in 29th (24.26).

Darren Rowlands passed the post in second (31.16) and Mike Robbins fourth (33.07) in the masters men’s followed by Phil Walker in 33rd (39.37), Charles Ashley in 35th (40.07) and Bob Frost in 39th (42.20).

Peter Norman was the winner of the M70 (24.14) and Gina Paletta was third (20.10) in the Under 20s women’s, while Daniel Weston came sixth (32.38) and Mark Byrne 10th (35.34) in the senior men’s.

David Blower was 30th (14.51) in the U15s boys, Emily Rowlands 31st (11.49) and Emily Clark 32nd (11.53) in the U13s girls and Helen Blower 31st (21.11) in the U15s girls.

Megan Rogers helped the Welsh Schools U18s girls team to a bronze medal at the Schools International Pentathlon in Glasgow.

The Wrexham starlet, who attends the Maelor School, was the highest Welsh finisher in fourth with a personal best score of 3,213 points.

James Roberts was crowned the North Staffs Cross Country League U15s boys champion after he came second (22.08mins) in the final race in Leek.

Tony Parry was also celebrating after he took the M50 title after finishing 81st (40.42) in the senior men’s behind Chris Bailey in 65th (38.58) and Adrian Bryan in 73rd (40.08) and ahead of Steve Spires in 155th (48.11) and Mike Edwards in 174th (51.55).

Tom Csizmadia was ninth (23.55) in the U17s men’s and Nia Jones fourth (9.04) in the U11s girls to each take third overall.

Josh Hall was 20th (12.25) in the U11s boys and Ruth Pearson 57th (32.42) and Gillian Csizmadia 75th (37.59) in the senior women’s.

A trio of Wrexham racers were age group winners at the Border League in Mold.

Robbins was the fastest M45 in 14th (28.09), Bernie Jones the fastest M50 in 22nd (28.53) and Morley the fastest W35 in 98th (33.08).

The club’s other finishers were: 19 Weston (28.45), 21 Darren Jones (28.52), 39 Stuart Wolstenholme (30.02), 52 Jordan Smith (30.34), 70 Robert Jones (31.27), 74 Tim Bent (31.50), 75 Chris Evans (31.52), 83 Bryan (32.10), 97 Eddie Hughes (33.06), 115 Geoff Richards (33.43), 147 Jonathan Davies (35.04), 157 Ian Carson (35.26), 226 Ruth Pearson (41.35).

Vinny’s round

GOLF: Vinny Simpson (28) won Clays Golf Club’s Seniors Individual Stableford on a countback from Mike Carding (28). Bill Duncan (27) was third.

Brian Johnston (36) was the winner of the Turkey Trot Individual Stableford with Alan Rogers (34) second and Michael Platt (34) third.