Finalists unveiled in Cheshire School Awards 2016

Everyone on the list will be invited to awards ceremony at The Queen Hotel Chester in June

Dianne Oxberry and Jon Everall of Excell Supply Ltd present last year's winners St Werburgh's and St Columba's Primary School with the Primary School of the Year Award

An amazing response to our call for nominations for the 2016 Cheshire Schools Awards gave judges a major headache trying to decide who should emerge triumphant.

Although this is only the second year the awards scheme – in association with executive partner Excell Supply – has been run, the number of high quality entries received was simply staggering, making the task of choosing the winners in each of the eight categories an extremely difficult one.

One of the judges, Trinity Mirror executive editor Cheshire weeklies Michael Green, said: “I have been a judge at a number of awards schemes over the years, but I can never remember being faced with a situation where pretty much every entry in every category was worthy of being declared the winner.”

Jon Everall of Excell Supply Ltd

Another judge, Jon Everall from Excell Supply, said: “The standard of entries was extremely high which made judging extremely difficult. We would like to thank everyone that took the time to enter, and congratulations to the final shortlist. We are excited to welcome the schools at the awards​ ​in June​ and look forward to revealing the winners.”

Whether you are a teacher, pupil or parent, this exciting and prestigious event provided the chance to salute your school as we celebrate the very best.

NCS are proud to be sponsoring the Secondary School Headteacher of the Year Award this year.

A spokesman for NCS said: “Through our partnerships with schools and colleges across the county, we want to recognise and celebrate the hard work and dedication headteachers put in to make sure that young people reach their full potential.”

National Citizen Service (NCS) is a government-backed, part-residential programme empowering young people aged 16-17 to build skills for work and life.

RELATED STORY: Cheshire Schools Awards 2015 winners

Taking place during the school holidays, young people take on new challenges and adventures, learn new skills, make new friends and spend a minimum of 30 hours giving something back to their local community.

“We work closely with schools and colleges across Merseyside and Cheshire to ensure as many young people as possible have access to and are benefiting from this opportunity.”

And now, following the toughest of judging processes, we can reveal the shortlist for the 2016 awards:

Howard Worth Chartered Accountants Inspirational Teacher Award:

Paul Pearson, Neston High School

Simone Gurbuz, Eaton Bank Academy

Matt Yeoman, Queen’s Park High School

School Achievement Award:

Meadow Primary School

Ellesmere Port Catholic High School

Saughall All Saints C of E Primary School

Frodsham Manor House Primary

School Newspaper/Website Award:

Eaton Bank Academy

Frodsham CE Primary School

The Blazer, The King’s School, Junior School

School Support Staff of the Year Award:

Carol Browne, Mill View Primary School

Jake McCallum, St Werburgh’s and St Columba’s Primary

Charlotte Pearson, Neston High School

Primary School Headteacher of the Year:

Sarah Curtis, Meadow Primary School

Michael Bousfield, Cherry Grove Primary School

Kathryn Oates, St Werburgh’s and St Columba’s

NCS Secondary School Headteacher of the Year:

Tony Lamberton, Christleton High School

Julie Brandreth, The County High School, Leftwich

Caroline Vile, Ellesmere Port Catholic High School

Excell Supply Ltd Primary School of the Year:

St Oswald’s CE Primary School

Frodsham Manor House Primary

St Werburgh’s and St Columba’s

Excell Supply Ltd Secondary School of the Year:

The County High School, Leftwich

Neston High School

Brine Leas School

The achievements of schools from across Cheshire will be recognised at a celebratory afternoon at the wonderful Queen Hotel in Chester in June.

All schools shortlisted are invited to join us. During the event we will recognise all award categories and the wonderful people, schools and projects shortlisted, while winners will be revealed on the day.

Dianne Oxberry of BBC North West Tonight will host the awards

The host on the afternoon is Dianne Oxberry from BBC TV.

View full mobile page